Malbork Castle

鈴木シーバス
3 min readOct 25, 2020

--

located in a little town Malbork in the northern part of Poland, which is 45 mins away from Gdansk by train, and built by the Teutonic knights in the 13th century, Malbork Castle is listed as one of World Heritage Sites. I recommend all of you guys go visit the castle if you in Poland have a plan to go to the north! You won’t be disappointed~

Why I write Malbork Castle first?

The reason is simple, not any meaningful at all. Although I have been to some famous tourist spots in Poland, like Warsaw Old Town, Gdansk, Sopot, and Gdynia etc., I write Malbork Castle first only because it is the place I recently visited and worthy to write :)

BTW, I will also complete articles related to those places I mentioned in the future!

Malbork Castle and I—

Actually, in the beginning, when I planned to go to Gdansk, I’d never heard anything about this castle( honestly, for almost all the trips I have taken in Poland, I rarely knew anything before I started them. I think this might be because I still kind of reject to face the reality that I am now in a EU country, which is far from home, having no preparation for stepping out of my comfortable zone, such as taking risks like going on a trip. It’s shame, though, and I found again it turns out that I’m still not as mature as I think. But, let’s stop digging my mind, or this article will be totally off-topic. I will find another time to collect my thoughts, and try to elaborate them in the future.) And on the day before the trip, I just added Malbork Castle to my schedule as my friend told me it’s worthwhile to see.

However, when I stood in front of the castle, I couldn’t agree with her more. At least for all attractions I have visited, Malbork Castle is the one which fits my imagination of medieval European buildings most. Big, full of vicissitudes, historical, these are what I consider a historic site should have, and what I use to describe this castle.

The area around Malbork is mainly plain. When I took train(REG, local train) from Gdansk Main to Malbork Kaldowo, outside the window was an endless, beautiful farmland as getting closer and closer to Malbork. So don’t forget to enjoy these rural sceneries!

Malbork Castle is the largest Gothic fortress in Europe, and also largest one using red bricks made of clay as the main building material in the world. Till now, there are two World Heritage built by Teutonic knights in this country. One is this, and the other is in Torun, but I didn’t go there. Other detailed information about the castle’s histories can be found on the internet, so I won’t describe too much(because I also don’t really know it :))

Before entering the castle, I first admired its majesty. After I stepped into the castle, I considered that views inside are still worthwhile to see. Delight in typical interior layouts of old European architectures, a beautiful central garden, people can immerse themselves in the ancient atmosphere. BTW, postcards there are also beautiful. I even bought four!

The interior of Malbork Castle

Overall, I highly recommend everyone to visit the Malbork Castle if you come to Poland, you guys could no doubt spend great time there:)

--

--